Original article from Cummins & White, LLC – 3/8/2022
Supplemental COVID-19 Sick Leave
With the expiration of the last version of California Sick Pay, Supplemental Leave on September 30, 2021, there has been no obligation in most circumstances to pay employees who are out due to COVID.
But that is about to change again, as the California legislature passed AB 84 this week, which will soon be signed by Governor Gavin Newsom. The obligation to pay CSPSL will become effective 10 days after the Governor signs (likely on or about February 21, 2022.)
A few items to consider about the new bill. It applies under these circumstances:
- Employers with 26 or more employees
- Employees are eligible for 40 hours of paid sick leave for (1) having COVID symptoms and seeking a diagnosis, (2) Subject to quarantine or isolation order from the government or a physician, (3) Caring for a family member with COVID, (4) Getting a vaccination or sick with side effects (max 24 hours), (5) Are caring for a child who cannot go to school or daycare for a COVID-related reason.
Watch the entire video from Erick Becker of Cummins & White, LLP for complete details on how employers and employees should respond to this law.