Minimum Wage Increase for California Employers

The California minimum wage amount increased to $15.50 for all employers, regardless of the number of employees. Additionally, exempt employees must now earn a minimum annual salary of $64,480.

Updating your employee handbooks for the upcoming year is important to ensure compliance with these new requirements.

Minimum Wage Requirements:

  • The state of California requires $15.50 as the minimum wage for all employers.
  • Employers also must check their local minimum wage ordinances, which can require a higher minimum wage – LA City minimum wage is $16.04, and unincorporated LA County is $15.96.
  • The minimum salary for exempt status is $64,480 for all employers. Employees that are paid below this salary must be paid on an hourly basis.

If you have any questions regarding this new employment law and how to implement it within your house of worship or nonprofit, Church & Casualty customers can contact Erick Becker at Erick is part of CCIA’s Advisory Team, our dedicated team of professionals that assist our customers with free services such as HR, Legal, Financial, and Security.